Compare Buy now pay later

Buy now pay later

Buy now pay later, compared on fees: what a purchase costs to pay off on time, and the late fee if you miss one. Free, no sign-up.

How much is the purchase?

Ranked by the fees to pay a $200 purchase off on time. Late fees are shown beside that figure, never added to it.

8 buy now pay later from 5 providers

Rates checked 1 Oct
How we rank
AfterpayAfterpay

Afterpay · non-bank lender

Pay in 4

Extra repayments · Interest free · Digital wallet

$0fees on $200, paid on time · optional Afterpay Plus Card Subscription Fee not counted
$10late fee (2 published)
4fortnightly instalments
$200 to $2,000purchase size
Go to provider
Details ›

no commission on this product

CommBankCommBank

CommBank

StepPay

Extra repayments · Digital wallet · Digital banking

$0fees on $200, paid on time
$10late fee
4fortnightly instalments
$100 to $2,000purchase size
Go to provider
Details ›

no commission on this product

PayPalPayPal

PayPal · non-bank lender

PayPal Pay in 4

Interest free · Instalment plan

$0*fees on $200, paid on time
$0late fee, none as stated
4fortnightly instalments
$1 to $1,999.99†purchase size
Go to provider
Details ›

no commission on this product

PlentiPlenti

Plenti · non-bank lender

Plenti Zero-Interest Payment Plan
Employment conditions apply

Extra repayments · Interest free · Digital banking

not statedfees on $200, paid on time (plan length not published)
$10late fee
not statedinstalments
not statedpurchase size
Go to provider
Details ›

no commission on this product

ZipZip

Zip · non-bank lender

Zip Pay

Extra repayments · Digital wallet · Card access

not statedfees on $200, paid on time (plan length not published)
$7.50late fee
not statedinstalments
not statedpurchase size
Go to provider
Details ›

no commission on this product

AfterpayAfterpay

Afterpay · non-bank lender

Pay Monthly

Extra repayments · Interest free · Digital wallet

not offeredfor $200 (plans from $1,000)
$17late fee (2 published)
6 to 36monthly instalments
$1,000 to $20,000purchase size
Go to provider
Details ›

no commission on this product

LookFirst does not compare every provider or product in the market. Important information

Not included yet: Klarna (not a Consumer Data Right data holder) and humm (publishes its product as a personal loan, not as buy now pay later). That is on top of the general note above: we do not compare every provider.

Non-bank lenders began publishing product data under the Consumer Data Right on 13 July 2026. Some of their products are voluntary to publish (consumer leases, reverse mortgages, margin loans, novated, fleet and other non-standard vehicle finance, and any product with under 1,000 customers), some lenders hold exemptions from the ACCC, and lenders below the size threshold are not obliged to publish at all, so some lenders and products are not here.

Fees on a purchase assume every instalment is paid on time, over the number of instalments the provider publishes; where a provider does not say how often instalments fall due, fortnightly is assumed and the row says so. Late fees are shown beside the figure, never added to it. These products charge no interest unless a purchase rate is shown, and no comparison rate applies to them.

* The provider publishes no fees for this product, so $0 is what it publishes, not a promise. Check its terms.† Purchase range as the provider publishes it. A $1 minimum or a .99 or 999 maximum reads like a system limit rather than an offer; the provider's terms are the word on it.

Compare next

0 selected Compare now →